Frequently Asked Questions

Got questions? We may have already answered it for another member. Check out the full list below.

Site Features

  • What is the Recent Activity feed?
    • The Recent Activity feed can be seen on the right hand side of the screen whenever you are logged on. Here you can manage all your interaction with other users, and their interaction with you!! The activity that we display is as follows:-
    • Views
    • Here you can see who as viewed your profile and profiles you have viewed. If there has been any new activity since you last logged on you will see a number in a red circle on the top right hand corner of the button. If you click the button to see views, users who have viewed you since your last log on will have their names highlighted in pink.
    • Winks
    • If a fellow user is in a hurry and just want to send you a cheeky message to let them you know they are interested in you they can send a wink. As for the views button, the wink button will shows you how many other users have winked at you since you last logged on and by selecting the button you can see each of the profiles too.
    • Favourite
    • If you see a guy whose profile you really like and want to keep them close, you can add them to your favourites. Every time you log on you can see if any of your favourites have sent you a message. By selecting the Favourites button you can display messages from your favourites only, with new favourite activity highlighted in pink.
    • Chat
    • All your Chat message history can be found under the Chat button, with new chats highlighted at the top of the activity feed. The red number at the top right of the button lets you know how many new Chat messages you have received since you last logged on. clicking the button revels those messages in the list, most recent first.
    • All
    • To quickly see all activity, be it from your favourites, be it who has viewed you, who has winked you or who has sent you a chat message, you can select the All button and all activity, regardless of type will be displayed in date order, most recent at the top. You may also see messages from our customer care team as well if there are any problems with your profile.
    • User
    • This button allows you to easily see all interactions with a specific user - their name will be displayed below the button and above the activity feed. This is a great place to really see everything you have got up to with an individual user - from winks to chat!
  • What happens when I Block another guy?
    • When you Block another guy, they will not be able to send you a private message. You will also no longer see him appear in any searches or lists on the site, nor will he see you appear in any searches or lists.
  • What happens when I mark a guy as Not My Type?
    • You can use this feature to keep track of which guys you aren't interested in. He will NOT be notified of this selection in any way.
  • What does the Clear Track button do?
    • This hides the fact that you have viewed another guy's profile. But keep in mind that he may have already seen your track when you viewed his profile.
  • What does the Leave Track button do?
    • If your privacy setting is set to not allow guys to see when you have viewed them, you can leave a track to allow the guy to see that you have viewed them.
  • How many photos can I upload?
    • You can have up to 1 primary photo, 10 secondary photos and 10 private photos. There is currently no limit on unassigned photos.

Voicemail

  • What is the voicemail feature?
    • As well as winking, you can now leave voice messages for other members. Just call the number on the site from the mobile that you registered with and, if prompted, key in that guy's code. You can then leave a voicemail message that he will pick up the next time he logs on. We'll let you know if you have new voicemails or replies, and we store all of your messages so that you can review them at any time.
  • How much does it cost?
    • Calls to the voicemail number cost 13p per minute + your network’s access charge.

SMS Messaging

  • How much does it cost to send and receive private 1-2-1 messages via SMS with other guys?
    • For full information please visit our Text Chat page.
  • How can I stop receiving 1-2-1 SMS messages from other guys?
    • To stop receiving SMS messages from a particular guy, you text BLOCK and the guy's Nickname to 64111.
    • Or to stop receiving messages from all guys, just text OFF to 64111. You can start receiving messages again at any time by texting ON to 64111.
    • All messages you send are charged at standard network rates. We do not charge you to use any of these features.
    • For full information please visit our Text Chat page.
  • What SMS commands are there?
    • <nickname> + <your message>
      Send a private 121 message to another user. Your mobile number will not be revealed. They can respond by using your Nickname.
    • PROFILE + <your description>
      Create or update your SMS profile for other users to find. Describe yourself and what you're looking for - but keep it clean and under 140 characters.
    • POSTCODE + <postcode>
      Update your postcode so that local guys can find you easily. Use your full postcode or just the first half. eg. SW1 1AA or just SW1
      Your postcode will never be revealed to another user. It's used only for matching purposes.
    • GUYS
      Request profiles of the 3 guys nearest to your registered postcode to be sent via SMS.
      Up to 3 profiles will be sent to you depending on availability.
    • GUYS + <postcode>
      Request profiles of the 3 guys nearest to the postcode you provide to be sent via SMS. Use the full postcode or just the first half. eg. SW1 1AA or just SW1.
      Up to 3 profiles will be sent to you depending on availability.
    • MORE
      Request 3 more profiles to be sent to you.
      Up to 3 profiles will be sent to you depending on availability.
    • CHAT + <message>
      Broadcast a message to be displayed to viewers of GayNetwork TV - Sky Channel 872.
    • CHAT LOOP + <message>
      Broadcast a message to be displayed to viewers of GayNetwork TV - Sky Channel 872.
      Loop messages will be displayed on the carousel for up to 48 hrs.
    • BLOCK + <nickname>
      Block another member from sending you 121 messages
    • OFF
      Turn off 121 messaging and disable your SMS profile
    • ON
      Turn on 121 messaging and enable your SMS profile
    • NOWEB
      Disable the Gay Network website profile associated with your mobile
    • WEB
      Enable the Gay Network website profile associated with your mobile
    • STOP
      Disable your SMS account and opt out of any future SMS marketing messages.

Other Questions